Posted by: aalleman1713 | January 20, 2012

Day 7: At the Clube and 1 week in

Date:1/19/2011

Today we went to the Clube.  This is a sports club, kind of like a gym or sports resort, on an island in the middle of a river near Varginha.  It is beautiful place.  We began the day at the clube by taking a 2 mile hike on a nature trail by a beautiful river.  I asked our professor if anybody ran on the trail so I could get some trail running but she said no, because it was too hilly.  I thought to myself that it could not be as bad as the trails in Lubbock, but I soon realized why she said this.  All along the trail there were stairs made of mud, Makeshift bridges that were falling apart, and walking paths completely overgrown with plants.  I could see why this trail was made for hiking only.  We then spent a few hours swimming laps and relaxing at the pool until our Brazilian friends Ricardo, Lucas, and Gabrielle came to meet us and played volleyball for the rest of the day.  I got to practice a lot of Portuguese with them and learned many new words.  Just being able to listen to them speak is great, and helps a lot.  I am beginning to be able to differentiate words from one another, and be able to really understand people when they talk.  Another great day in Brazil!  I will try to put up a post every day from now on with 5 new words and 1 new phrase that I learn.  Até Amanhã!  (Until Tomorrow!)

 

New Words:

Sua vez (Your Turn)

Parecer (Looks Like)

Mangeira (Mango Tree)

Escorregador (Slippery)

Aranha (spider)

Eu fui _____ hoje. (I went to _____ today)


Leave a comment

Categories